UPDATE: Radiohead LP to be released tomorrow? No.
- Artists:
- Radiohead »
By clicking on the rather Ronseal-esque website URL of http://www.radioheadlp7.com, wet-panted Radiohead fans like DiS will be further crotch-moist at the sight of a (at the time of writing) Jack Bauer style countdown with only 17 hours on the clock.
But beware - a Radiohead spokesman has announced that the site is "a hoax" that has "nothing to do with Radiohead". Furthermore, some are suggesting that it's been built with the intention of getting fans to divulge passwords.
It was thought that the countdown might've been anticipating the release of a new album and that Saturday morning (29th September) would see the posting of full details of their much-anticipated seventh record.
Still, it's not that surpising really, as seasoned Radiohead fan and veteran poster 'TrueLoveWaits24' noted on the www.arpeggi.net website;
"Whilst everyone's really excited, this is clearly NOT something rhead would do; while they like to promote things and build anticipation - they wouldn't have chosen such a grandstanding nebby URL or cliched countdown format. Firstly, I'd expect them to have chosen a better web address - something completely useless and unrelated to anything before, and definitely not such an obvious thing as 'radioheadlp7'. Secondly it probably would only have been accessible via a hidden link on their website. Thirdly, I would have probably seen it first, due to my complicated meta-scan technology I have covering all rhead websites."
So there.
Still, I'll be at Tescos tomorrow. Just in case.
- Peter Gabriel to release 'song swap' album with songs of Arcade Fire, Magnetic Fields + more
- No Surprises: Radiohead to carry on releasing albums after all
- Men more likely to download music illegally, but the girls shop around...
- Year 2000 - A Playlist of Songs Wot Soundtracked the Launch of DiS
- Thom Yorke 'denies' Banksy video link-up, or perhaps not...
- Lily Allen vs. Radiohead vs. Patrick Wolf vs. The Man
- Thom Yorke confirms new singles, announces video premiere
- Leeds 2009: The DiS review Pt. 1
From the archive
-
ReDiScover: Low
-
Drowned in Sound's Top 46 Albums of 2005
-
In Photos: The Week That Was @ DiScover Sheffield
OK I followed the link
I saw the countdown.
Then wee went everywhere
This: Actually, we don't even know for sure if this is an official Radiohead website thing. maybe no
Sounds pretty plausible, non?
the website
now appears to be down... or at least not working... so I'd stay in bed tomorrow if I was you.
plausible indeed
(trousers are ruined anyway)
The source code just says...
<!--WEAREWATCHING-->
<!--BEHA#PY-->
"Crotch-moist" - ROFLz.
"The web site you are accessing has experienced an unexpected error.
Please contact the website administrator." - hmmmm... maybe it was a countdown to when Thom Yorke will EXPLODE. Like in that UNKLE video. Sort of.
Nah, it's back up now.
Actually looks convincing, and the hit-counter's going up by about 200 per minute. So if it's a hoax, it's a bloody good one. And if it's real, as marketing ploys go, it's genius.
it doesn't *just* say that...
otherwise the page wouldn't work.
there is a whole lot of whitespace, though.
I smell hoaxery.
So it is...
Has anyone thought that, if it is legit, they might be giving the album away for free?
Not for free...
but it has crossed my mind that they might just release it - perhaps digitally - at the drop of a hat.
Equally though - you'd have to download it as an entire LP - cos they don't like single tracks for download, do they?
x
Yeah...
they don't have a label, so they could do something akin to Stars and just get it out there. I guess we'll find out tomorrow morning!
Considering the countdown
Seems to be based on the time on your PC, proven by the fact the Chicago based Pitchfork have also reported that the countdown will expire at 9am Chicago-time. So i doubt it's anything to get excited about.
freshers week engrish.
Im sure you can still understand what i mean.
.
radiohead webmaster confirmed that it is nothing to do with radiohead
If you check the source code of the site
it has
<!--WEAREWATCHING-->
<!--BEHA#PY-->
at the start, I don't know what that means but I'll throw the floor open to wild theories
been done above
ignore
NME says it's a hoax too
http://www.nme.com/news/radiohead/31449
but then isnt NME a hoax as well?
I think "a fucking joke"
would be more apt... except when they cover PopShop, of course. ;-)
In related news...
Simply Red, Placebo, nor Boney M are releasing an album tomorrow either.
hmm
their official website currently has a sketch with "Be Happy" on it too
I'll look forward to what occurs
or does not for that matter, when the clock reaches all the noughts.
i doubt it
its using the kid a font for a start
and... no
Check out the link now...
Rick Astley......boooooooo
ahahaha
lovely
Hehehe
JUST been Rick Rolled!
So LET DOWN.
NO SURPRISES, though. It looked suspicious after all.
Wow
I'm loving their new direction. Big improvement.
It's a good job
my firefox blocked Rick Astley
I've been rolled one too many times
it's made me bitter
...
...I'm shaking...WOWWWWW! I'm going to download the album for like, a penny, then get the super box version for 40 quid when it comes out (because I can't afford it right now :()
so
it is legit then!


Radiohead
In Photos: Monotonix @ Hector's House, Brighton
In Photos: The Specials @ Hammersmith Apollo, London
In Photos: Camden Crawl Launch Event @ The Blues Kitchen, London
In Photos: La Roux @ Shepherds Bush Empire, London
Comments
- Post a new comment on this article