Downloading music from IOMOIO
So a mate gets all his choons from a Russian site called IOMOIO. It has a huge catalogue, including lots of rare stuff, and all tracks are $0.16 each - so around a pound per album.
A quick google suggests it's all legit - but is it? How can it be legal? Will I go on some kind of INTERNET POLICE LIST if I start using it? Will I go to INTERNET HELL for robbing bands of their rightful income?
What's the story?
- Relevant artist taggings:
- None
Thread not appearing correctly? Click here to rebuild | Report this


http://www.gobankingrates.com/savings-account/grammy-awards-2013-cheap-music-downloads-free-online-music-services/
Just found this
Seem to recall a similar site to this being shut down a few years ago.
I would assume it's legit in the sense that this is presumably the price you pay in Russia for music, but probably they have territorial contracts they're ignoring.
Honestly, I don't know why you'd pay 16c to company in Russia you don't fully trust or understand and feel like this was somehow morally better than just downloading the music direct from torrents pirated for free.
The artist probably[ambiguous, citation needed] ends up getting as much out of it as they would via the fully legit spotify.
It was AllofMP3 wot got squeezed out a few years back. The only company I've ever bought mp3s from - just before they got shut down. Iirc, i used paypal to bung ten quid into an account to see what was what.
They had a comparatively (for the time) massive catalogue. And the best model I've seen before or since - reasonably priced, and pay more for better quality.
But rather than set up an official version and coin it in, 'the industry' pissed around spouting FUD and resting on it's iTunes laurels for another half a decade before realising that letting apple call the shots wasn't the answer to their prayers and opting to swallow the bitter spotify pill.